

## To: Mr. Emmanuel Macron, President of France

Brussels, 22 March 2022

Dear Mr President,

The presidency of the Council of the European Union represents a great challenge and responsibility, especially towards finding a solution to the current crisis caused by Russia's military aggression against Ukraine.

We, the undersigned Members of the European Parliament, are extremely concerned about the situation in Mariupol and other besieged areas of Ukraine, and strongly believe that the European Union must work with the international community, including at the United Nations level, to protect civilians against the dangers arising from military operations. We appreciate your ongoing efforts, which, up to now, have not resulted into successful results.

Therefore, we kindly ask you to take further action without delay towards the formation of a corridor for the safe evacuation of the civilian population and distribution of humanitarian aid for the city of Mariupol. The army of the Russian Federation has surrounded this seaport and devastated most of the infrastructure, making it impossible for civilians to leave, distribute food and medical supplies and, according to reports, it has deported thousands of Mariupol citizens to Russia against their will.

Immediate negotiation for the establishment of the humanitarian corridor is an essential step towards saving lives not only in Mariupol, where more than 300 000 people are endangered with the humanitarian collapse.

The European Union was founded as a peace project for Europe based on shared values and principles, and we welcome that the Union continues to demonstrate its 's unwavering support for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Ukraine in both words as in deeds. The whole world is watching what is happening in Europe and we cannot accept that an aggressor is waging a war on our border, against a country that has applied for membership in the EU. This is why we believe that the European Union must use all its diplomatic power and work with the international community to stop the military conflict in Ukraine, to prevent the human suffering, the humanitarian crisis, and the economic devastation caused by this conflict.

Mr President, we urge you to start negotiating with the UN Security Council without any delay about the mediation of dialogue between the parties to the conflict to allow access by international humanitarian forces to enable timely saving of human lives in all besieged areas.

This letter is addressed to you, as the President of the country presiding the Council of the European Union and the only government of the European Union to be the permanent member of the UN Security Council. This letter is also addressed to Mr Charles Michel, President of the European Council, and the representatives of the Member States.



The citizens of Mariupol, like the entire Ukrainian people, are our European neighbours. We must do everything in our power to save innocent lives. By not using all options, we become morally corresponsible for their deaths.

Mr President, do not spend your time replying to this letter but act immediately. This will be the best answer that we can get.

Sincerely,

Michaela Šojdrová (EPP, Czech Republic) Miriam Lexmann (EPP, Slovakia) Ivan Štefanec (EPP, Slovakia) Tomáš Zdechovský (EPP, Czech Republic) Mircea Hava (EPP, Romania) Eugen Tomac (EPP, Romania) Romana Tomc (EPP, Slovenia) Alexander Yordanov (EPP, Bulgaria) Radan Kanev (EPP, Bulgaria) Rasa Juknevičienė (EPP, Lithuania) Aušra Maldeikiene (EPP, Lithuania) Andrius Kubilius (EPP, Lithuania) Andrea Bocskor (NA, Hungary) Tomasz Frankowski (EPP, Poland) Inese Vaidere (EPP, Latvia) David Lega (EPP, Sweden) Jan Olbrycht (EPP, Poland) Maria Grapini (S&D, Romania) Lefteris Christoforou (EPP, Cyprus) Loucas Fourlas (EPP, Cyprus) Janusz Lewandowski (EPP, Poland) Petr Pollák (EPP, Slovakia) Romana Jerković (S&D, Croatia) Dan-Ștefan Motreanu (EPP, Romania) Milan Zver (EPP, Slovenia) Traian Băsescu (EPP, Romania) Marek Balt (S&D, Poland) Hilde Vautmans (Renew, Belgium) Ivars Ijabs (Renew, Latvia) François-Xavier Bellamy (EPP, France) Pierre Larrouturou (S&D, France) Massimiliano Salini (EPP, Italy)